Note on politics and priorities

I won’t be publishing much on politics on this blog, after all, if indeed anything. I’ve discovered that I have more urgent things to do with my life – personal financial stuff, caregiving for my family, studing technical manuals for things which I want to do (like programming WordPress), cleaning the house, getting fit, re-earning the Martial Arts Black Belt which I earned twelve years ago but for which I did not maintain the skills.

A bit of a further note on that: My Sensei and the Cheezic Tang Soo Do Federation have been kind enough to let me wear the belt while working out, as is their custom… but I, and everyone around me, know just how far I am from knowing the required forms and being able to spar with my colleagues who haven’t spent the last ten years not working out. My best guess is that I’m a year to a year and a half away from being able to do all of the forms and techniques which a Cheezic black belt is expected to know.

Author: Philip Sevetson

Husband, father, uncle, grandfather. Old married white guy. Mainframe Database geek. Mid-level martial artist (1 Dan, Cheezic Tang Soo Do Federation), recovering desk jockey (working out with some regularity). Agnostic Christian (United Church of Christ or Evangelical Church of the U.S.A., depending on my mood). Democrat. Liberal, with strong prejudices in favor of freedom of speech, privacy of electronic communications, strong encryption without backdoors, a level economic / employment / educational / and legal playing field, feminism, full civil rights for minorities and LGBTQIA+, 1st/4th/5th/14th amendments.

Leave a Reply

